History: The first non official World Roller Speed Skating Championship was celebrated in Monza, Italy in 1937.
The first non official World Championship was celebrated in Monza, Italy in 1937, but officially in 1966, the skating world received with open arms, its official World Championship in Mar del Plata, Argentina at the Peralta Ramos Avenue, April 24 with the presence of Italy, Germany, England, Spain, Belgium, New Zealand, Japan, United States, Colombia, Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina.

The most significant part of Worlds is rotating the championships at different sites through the years. Italy and Argentina are the few countries whom have hosted the Championships several times. Through the years, the level of competition and number of participating countries have increased.

Now, there are variations to the Championship categories as well, which includes track, marathon and that makes the event more interesting.

Gijon 2008 (Spain) has the record in quantity of teams and athletes participating with 564 athletes from 54 countries. In Yeosu 2011 will be the first time for the new ages for the junior categories up to 19 years.
Latest CIC World Roller Speed Skating Championships
2010 Guarne, Colombia 2003 Barquisimeto, Venezuela 1997 Mar del Plata, Argentina
2009 Haining, China 2002 Ostende, Belgium 1996 Venecia, Italy
2008 Gijón, Spain 2001 Valence d´Agen, France 1996 Barrancabermeja, Colombia*
2007 Cali, Colombia 2000 Barrancabermeja, Colombia 1995 Perth, Australia
2006 Anyang, Korea 1999 Santiago, Chile 1994 Gujan Mestras, France
2005 Suzhou, China 1998 Pamplona, Spain 1993 Colorado Springs, USA
2004 Abruzzo, Italy 1998 Piombino, Italy* 1992 Roma, Italy
Copyright © 2000-2011 / PatinCarrera.com
All Rights Reserved