Time Trials: Korea and Colombia split the gold medals in Yeosu.
30.08.11: Jercy Puello, Pedro Causil, So Yeong Shin and Bong Ju Choi were the fastest skaters during the first night of finals at the 2011 CIC Worlds.
The Koreans are leading the medal tally after the first day in Yeosu 2011. Foto © PatinCarrera.com
After the long distance finals and some presentations, the sprinters had their turn in the 300m. The 300m is a trophy event, just like the 100m in athletics.

It was a close battle between Colombia and Korea, and where the host nation was strong in the juniors, the Colombians were stronger in the seniors. The local junior So Yeong Shin showed how strong she was to win the gold beating Colombia’s Yesenia Escobar (26s941) and Stefania Hurtado (27s176).

The Jr men’s race was very dramatic because the final corner leading into the straight was very bumpy and slippery. The Chilean Emanuelle Silva lost her chance of a medal crashing out. Colombian Juan Camilo Perez also slipped and lost her chance of a medal finishing fifth. Korean Bonj Ju Choi was the winner of the race stopping the watch at 24s955 Colombian Andres Agudelo (24s958) by 3 thousandths of a second. It was reminiscent of the same race in Cali in 2007 when Wouter Hebbrecht beat Gregory Duggento at the 200m Time Trial by a similarly close margin. Darren de Souza of France, the two time European Champion 2011- got third place and the first medal for his team in Yeosu 2011.

With a load of South American ladies in the race, the Sr ladies started their final event for the evening. Jercy Puello defended her crown won in Guarne 2010 in spite of slipping in the last corner. Puello registered a time of 26s382 to beat the Korean Yi Seul Aun (26s513) and the Italian Erika Zanetti (27s096) who was third who improved greatly from the morning session. The Ecuadorian Ingrid Factos (27s115) was the surprise of the race.

The Sr men’s race was the last one and the public expected a spectacular race. The Korean Kyung Tae Kang who was first in the mornings qualifying session had the host nations hopes riding on his shoulders. Unfortunately he could only manage 6th in the final. The Colombians came roaring back in the finals winning the race. Pedro Causil (24s314) followed by his teammate Andres Muñoz (24s427). The Frenchman Nicolas Pelloquin (24s503) took the bronze in a great race for him blocking the Koreans out of the medals.
Copyright © 2000-2011 / PatinCarrera.com
All Rights Reserved